Haryana govt. bans old petrol & diesel vehicles in NCR cities

The Haryana government has banned petrol vehicles that are more than 15 years old, and diesel vehicles more than 10 years old, in all cities that are a part of the National Capital Region (NCR). Currently, this jurisdiction is applicable in four cities of Haryana: Gurgaon, Faridabad, Sonepat and Jhajjar.


The State government claims that this step has been taken to curb air pollution in a way that it does not affect the National Capital. This ban comes a few days after the National Green Tribunal issued a similar order on diesel vehicles that are more than 10 years old and are registered with the Delhi RTO.

The four cities affected by the said order (Gurgaon, Faridabad, Sonepat and Jhajjar) cumulatively house around 20 lakh registered vehicles. It remains to be seen whether or not the Haryana government follows NGT’s steps and prohibits the old vehicles from reselling anywhere in India.

These recent efforts to curb pollution levels have intensified after Delhi was named as the 11th most polluted city of the world.

Source: Times of India

Author: Prasanth Chunduri

I am an Independent Financial Advisor advising about mutual funds. Apart from my profession I am interested in cars and bikes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s